— Prohibition — A Documentary By Ken Burns

OK, I’m kinda going through a “Roaring 20’s” phase nowadays.  Partly based on some basic research I did in order to compare Prohibition to Obamacare, but it seems like a fun time in America.  So I happen to come across a great Documentary on Prohibition and decided to check it out.

It’s from PBS!!!  and despite that, it is a great Documentary on the entire Prohibition era that will no doubt provide a perspective that you probably haven’t been exposed to before.  It comes in 3 parts (at about 1.5 hours each) but wait….  It’s now on Netflix so you don’t have to watch it all in one sitting.  But I assure you, if you start watching it, you will not be able to stop.  It is as addictive as the moonshine that stemmed from the era itself.  This documentary is chalked full of amazing film/video that never ceases to amaze.

You must absolutely take the time to see it.  It initially came out in 2011 but Ken Burns and his crew did an amazing job on it.  Between the 3 episodes, you’ll get some perspective on the –politics of the day, –race relations, –why Alcohol was banned, –why Prohibition failed and –some of the amazing court cases that occurred relating to Prohibition.

For some reason, I think I would have really liked Prohibition.  This is despite the race part, of course.  But there is no doubt I would’ve fit right in.  I like Jazz, I love alcohol (and I can make it if need be).  I’m a Libertarian which means I have no problem ignoring what the Federal Government says, and I’m all about owning a Speakeasy… and paying no taxes.  SIDENOTE: I think I have a fetish for “Flappers” now!

Go watch this documentary!!!  It will NOT disappoint.

Kali Pinckney

What's On Your Mind??

